Professor Anthony Johnson selected as the 2021 recipient of The Optical Society Stephen D. Fantone Distinguished Service Award

CSEE Professor Anthony Johnson has been selected as the 2021 recipient of The Optical Society (OSA) Stephen D. Fantone Distinguished Service Award. Dr. Johnson is being honored specifically for decades of principled leadership and steadfast service to The Optical Society and to the optics community, and especially for serving as a tireless ambassador for OSA.

Dr. Johnson has served in numerous leadership roles for OSA, including Director-at-Large on OSA’s Board of Directors, chair of the Women & Minorities Committee, and chair of the Awards Council. He was the 2002 OSA President, and continues to remain active with OSA. He currently sits on the Presidential Advisory Committee (PAC) and serves as a member of the OSA Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Rapid Action Committee (DEI RAC). In addition to his service to OSA, Johnson is an active leader in the National Society of Black Physicists, American Physical Society (APS), and IEEE, and he supported the African Laser Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Sciences Network (LAM Network) by establishing the African Optics and Photonics Society.

Founded in 1916, OSA is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and business leaders who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts.

This award was established in 1973 by the Board of Directors. It is presented to a recipient who, over an extended period of time, has served the Optical Society in an outstanding way, especially through volunteer participation in its management, operation, or planning in such ways as editorship of a periodical, organization of meetings, or other service to the Society. He joins an esteemed group of past recipients recognized for their outstanding contributions, service, and leadership in the field of optics and photonics.

press release announcing several 2021 award winners is available, as well as an announcement about the 2021 Stephen D. Fantone Distinguished Service Award.