UMBC CSEE Research Day 2023 Program

Computer Science and Electrical Engineering
University of Maryland, Baltimore County

9 am to 4 pm, Friday, May 5, 2023
Atrium, ECS Building
Talks online via WebEx

A celebration of selected research accomplishments from 2022–2023 by UMBC faculty and students in the Department of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering.  Open to faculty, researchers, students, and visitors.

The reception, opening session, lunch, poster sessions, and awards will take place in the Atrium of the Engineering building.  Talks will be broadcast online via WebEx from ITE 325B.


Reception (9:00am–9:20am), with coffee, juice, water, breakfast bites

Opening Remarks (9:20am–9:30am), Mohamed Younis, Acting Chair, Dept. of CSEE

Session I (9:30am–10:40am) – Each talk is 20mins

Dr. Curtis Menyuk, “Centa𝜐r: Center for Time and Frequency Research”

Dr. Ergun Simsek, “Designing Energy Efficient Neural Networks According to Device Operation Principles”

Dr. Josiah Dykstra, Cyber Defense Lab, “Stress and Hacking: Understanding Cognitive Stress in Tactical Cyber Operations”  (invited talk by UMBC CS PhD alumnus)

Break (10:40am–11:00am)

Student Poster Session (11:00am–12:00pm) – faculty vote for the three best posters using Range Voting

Free Lunch (12:00pm–1:00pm), vegetable red curry (vegetarian), garden salad, chicken marsala, beef fajitas, rice pilaf, bread

Session II (1:00pm–2:10pm)

Sophia Hamer, “A Man-in-the-Middle attack on the FIDO UAF Registration Protocol,” Award for best research by a BS student (joint work with Jonathan Fuchs, Danning Liu)

Sai Vallurupalli, “POQue: Asking Participant-specific Outcome Questions for a Deeper Understanding of Complex Events,”  Award for best research by a Ph.D. student (joint work with Sayontan Ghosh, Katrin Erk, Niranjan Balasubramanian, Francis Ferraro)

Maksim E. Eren, “One-Shot Federated Group Collaborative Filtering,” Award for best research by a MS student (joint work with Manish Bhattarai, Nicholas Solovyev, Luke E. Richards, Roberto Yus, Charles Nicholas, Boian S. Alexandrov)

Break (2:10pm–2:30pm)

Session III (2:30pm–3:40pm)

Dr. Ram Rustagi, “Cyber Range Overview”

Dr. Roberto Yus, “SmartSPEC: Customizable Smart Space Datasets via Event-Driven Simulations” (joint work with Andrew Chio, Daokun Jiang, Peeyush Gupta, Georgios Bouloukakis, Sharad Mehrotra, Nalini Venkatasubramanian)

Dr. Alan T. Sherman, “Psychometric Evaluation of the Cybersecurity Curriculum Assessment” (joint work with Geoffrey L. Herman, Shan Huang, Peter A. Peterson, Linda Oliva, Enis Golaszewski)

Student Poster Awards and Reception (3:40-4:00pm), with cookies and drinks

Adjourn (4:00pm)