UMBC Cyberdawgs af MDC3 2013

UMBC’s CyberDawgs placed second at the 2013 Maryland Cyber Challenge (MDC3) finals that were held in Baltimore on October 9 as part of the CyberMaryland 2013 conference.

CyberDawgs-1 (pictured above) included William Thomas, Anthony Sasadeusz, Kenneth Johansen Jorge Teixeira, AJ Hallameyer, and Fahad Alduraibi.

During the finals, teams competed in a Control-the-Flag event where they attempted to gain (and maintain) control of other systems on the network – which were also being targeted by other teams seeking to gain and ‘own’ them as well.

All of UMBC’s three CyberDawg teams competed vigorously throughout the MDC3 season and maintained a very tight scoring situation for the college division. However, by taking second place in today’s finals, each member of CyberDawgs-1 will receive a $2,000 cash prize provided by the National Security Agency.

CSEE’s Dr. Richard Forno and Dr. Charles Nicholas are faculty advisors to the team.  UMBC is a co-founder of the Maryland Cyber Challenge.